Hit Or Miss: My First Crayons

I have been trying for a while now to get Livi interested in some kind of arts and crafts but up until now all I got was a cold shoulder and a loudly howled “Noooo.”

No matter what I tried, she just wasn’t interested. I suspect she didn’t want to sit still for more than three seconds.

That has changed recently. Now she is capable of sitting down for longer periods of time, especially when we read to her or look at one of her many picture books.

And so I thought this is a good time to bring out the crayons again and see if she is interested. And sure enough, as soon as we set down, she was all over it, trying out the different colors and coloring one page after another.

When I bought the crayons a while ago, I got different kinds because I wasn’t sure which ones she would actually want to use.

My First Crayola Washable Crayons (12+ months): These are little animal characters that are supposedly easier for your toddler to hold. Livi didn’t get the hang of it and never used them for coloring. She does, however, love the little animals, so I just took out the crayons and put the rest with her toys.

My First Crayola Washable Stampers (12+ months): Like the crayons above, these are little animal characters but you use them as a stamp. They come in different colors and they stamp little animal faces. Livi didn’t like to use these stamps, so I am keeping these for latter.

My First Crayola Washable Triangular Crayons (24+ months): These are labeled for 24 months and older but just in case, I bought these as well. And low and behold, these are the only ones Livi will use for coloring. Thankfully, they are washable as things tend to get a bit messy.

Hit Or Miss:
While Livi did not use the crayons actually intended for toddlers her age, the triangular crayons are in high demand these days.

Disclosure

12 comments on “Hit Or Miss: My First Crayons

  1. Ooooh, thanks for this! I too have been trying on and off to get her juiced about coloring, but it never seems to work. I have the large marker-type things you posted above, and I find they just aren’t worth it as she doesn’t get it. My mother bought her some colored pencils from the Middle East that are supposed to be for kids aged 12+, and that’s all I have. But I figured if she wasn’t interested in those, she wasn’t going to be interested in crayons period. Now I’m totally driving to Toys R Us this week while the hubby is traveling to see if we can get some triangular crayons!!!!

    • hnMom says:

      Yeah, give them a try. I just got a small pack for starters (8 crayons) so that it wouldn’t be a waste if she didn’t like them. But she went straight for them when I took them out.
      Also, the backs of the crayons are not covered in paper so Livi always “colors” on her shirt as well. It comes out easily since they are washable, but just as an FYI.

  2. Steph says:

    Glad Livi is starting to like coloring. My kiddo just likes regular crayons (and markers).

  3. Nina says:

    We’re big fans of the triangular crayons too! Like Livi, my kiddo didn’t seem to want anything to do with crayons or coloring, but he eventually warmed up, and now it is part of his daily activities. In addition to the triangular ones, I also got the round jumbo ones, and he has now graduated to the regular thin crayons (washable still, of course!).

    I’m now interested in getting him colored pencils. He is all about scribbling but he is now getting into coloring in actual shapes.

  4. munchow says:

    So good I guess of both you that Livi got interested in drawing with crayons. It’s always nice to get that creativity going – and to observe how they enjoy it – from early on. Inspiring post. Maybe we will see some of Livi’s artistic creations here?

    • hnMom says:

      It really is fun to watch her and show an interest. Right now, it is all about trying out the different colors.
      The first picture shows some of her first “creations.” 🙂

  5. Deni Lyn says:

    Fun! Mac is still slightly more interested in eating them than coloring with them but I get them out routinely because I LOVE to color. But I reserve them for when we have LOTS of time because prying them out of the little guy’s fist can be a rather challenging endeavor. Can’t wait to hear what Livi tries next! I’ve been dying to fingerpaint with Mac but I think that’s a project for when the weather cools and we can go outside to try it. I can’t fathom the mess that’s going to make! 🙂

    • hnMom says:

      Finger painting is definitely on my list of things I want to try with Livi. I am still trying to figure out how exactly I want to do it. I like your idea of doing it outside, that might actually work. 😉

  6. 4eyedblonde says:

    I just got these, thanks to your suggestion, and just in time, too! Addy has JUST become interested in coloring. So far she’s been using her brother’s markers (not so well, I might add) and crayons, so I’m excited to get these in her paws to see if they help her to hold them a little better. Thanks for the suggestion!

    • hnMom says:

      That’s great. I love coloring with Livi and she’s been doing really well with the triangular crayons. Hopefully, they work out for Addy as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

