The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

Most of my posts highlight the challenges I encounter(ed) while raising a high need baby and now toddler. It may seem that all I do is complain about my life or that I am ungrateful for my little girl. But both could not be further from the truth.

There are several reasons why I choose to emphasize the difficult parts on my blog:

  • When I was a new parent and did not know why my baby was crying all the time and always seemed fussy and unhappy, I found so much comfort and relief when I read that there were other parents with similar experiences. I hope to give at least some parents with a high need baby that same relief.
  • While most of my posts are recounts of my experiences with Livi, I also try to include ideas and strategies that worked for us and those that did not so that other parents can try them as well. When Livi was little, I was thankful for any ideas provided by other parents of high need children, no matter how obvious, because there comes a point when you cannot think straight anymore.
  • I also felt very isolated in the beginning because there was no one around who had a high need baby or who at least had heard of it. Having to explain it over and over and still getting blank looks or disbelief was very frustrating. I want to show other parents that what they are experiencing is very real and that they are not alone.
  • Finally, unless someone writes about the “ugly truth,” the rough nights, the seemingly constant crying, and all the other things typical for a high need baby, many parents will not even know what they are facing. Not every pediatrician will talk about high need babies or give advice. And so many parents, especially those who are parents for the first time, will doubt themselves and become frustrated with the experience. I hope to at least reach some of them with my posts.

HOWEVER, only blogging about the dark side makes for a very depressing blog. So now that I can see a (faint) light at the end of the tunnel as Livi is getting older and settling nicely into toddlerhood, I will try to include more of the positives we experience. Of course, I will also keep writing about the challenging experiences as there are many more stories left to tell.

For now, here are a few of my lighter posts:

Flickr Photo by Piano Piano!

16 comments on “The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

  1. Steph says:

    I always appreciate honesty even if it is “negative.” It’s so helpful to be able to find other moms who are struggling with whatever you are, whether it’s a high needs baby, ppd, or simply adjusting to motherhood.

    • hnMom says:

      Thanks for your feedback. I agree, and it’s the main reason I started this blog in the first place so I am glad to know that you feel the same way. Now that I get to enjoy more and more “positive” moments, I want to share those too, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nina says:

    I wondered the same about my blog, particularly when I was seemingly writing about tantrum after defiance after tantrum. I thought, “Gosh I hope people don’t think he’s one tantrumming kid all the time!”

    For what it’s worth, I never got the sense that you complain or aren’t grateful for your little girl. In fact you come across as just the oppositeโ€”someone who loves her baby very much.

  3. 4eyedblonde says:

    I’ve not ever felt as though your entries were depressing, but instead, more like contemplative or informative. I enjoy reading about the lessons you’ve learned and the challenges you’ve faced. Being a mommy can be ugly sometimes. It’s the honesty in that truth that keeps me reading my favorite blogs.

    Keep up the good work!

  4. Kerry says:

    You’re doing great. I appreciate honesty a lot more than ‘overdone’ any day.

  5. Deni Lyn says:

    I think you do a great job offering a balanced perspective about life with a high needs baby. It’s useful information. But not only that, it’s obvious how much you care. . .and I can definitely tell you have a wicked sense of humor. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Oster's Mom says:

    I was thinking about you last night and wanted to let you know what a wonderful mother you are. You are patient, encouraging, strong, and creative. I’m so glad to know you.

    • hnMom says:

      Wow, thank you so much, that really means a lot to me.
      I am really glad to know you as well. It’s so nice to get feedback and reassurance and to share these challenges. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I applaud you for what you’re writing! There’s nothing worse than feeling isolated or like there’s no one else out there who’s going through the same thing. There are plenty of places where people only share the good (Facebook for one) and it doesn’t feel real. I think you have a very upbeat way of writing about difficult things.

  8. Great post. I can totally relate. I started my blog about Cooper because I felt so alone too. I needed to know that other babies didn’t sleep too! Facebook only shows the good ones!! I think posts like this help so many of us moms. Great job.

    • hnMom says:

      I am glad you think so. That’s the whole reason I started this blog. These days my high need/ spirited/ highly sensitive little girl (or whatever you want to call her temperament) is just keeping me too busy to even think about blogging.
      But I am hopeful that one day I can write more about our experience.
      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

