What Makes A Dad

I always adored my dad. I lost him way too young when I was 19 and I miss him every year. Some years are easier than others, but it is never easy. Since Livi was born, it has been more difficult. I wish he could see her grow up. I wish she would get to know him and not just hear stories.

* * *

Livi adores her dad. I could not ask for a better father for my little girl. Her excitement when he comes home in the evening and the pure joy on his face when they spend time together are beautiful to watch.

* * *

Happy Father’s Day to my dad and to my husband! And Happy Father’s Day to all you dads out there!

Dad and Daughter

What Makes A Dad

God took the strength of a mountain,
The majesty of a tree,
The warmth of a summer sun,
The calm of a quiet sea,

The generous soul of nature,
The comforting arm of night,
The wisdom of the ages,
The power of the eagle’s flight,

The joy of a morning in spring,
The faith of a mustard seed,
The patience of eternity,
The depth of a family need,

Then God combined these qualities,
When there was nothing more to add,
He knew His masterpiece was complete,
And so, He called it … Dad

Author Unknown

* * *

Flickr Photo by Peter Werkman

2 comments on “What Makes A Dad

  1. Oster's Mom says:

    Such a beautiful and moving post! Thanks for sharing your story. You picked such a wonderful poem to express the love for both your dad and husband. Happy Father’s Day to Livi’s Dad!

Leave a Reply

