The Pacifier Saga

PacifierAs a baby, Livi could not care less about pacifiers. We had waited to establish breastfeeding before we offered her one, but when we did, she actually turned her face away.

We tried a few more times without success. I think I managed to put one in her mouth twice – while she was sleeping – only to have her push it out right away.

So after a while we gave up. We had hoped that she would take the pacifier and then magically turn into one of those happy babies you see on TV. You know, the ones who peacefully sleep as soon as you put them in their crib … but alas it was not meant to be.

Fast forward a year.

I had completely forgotten about all the pacifiers when I was sorting out some of Livi’s baby clothes the other day. There they were, shiny and untouched, eager to make a baby happy. Unsure of what I wanted to do with them, I sat them aside.

A few minutes later I heard an unfamiliar sound behind me. When I turned around, there was Livi, one pacifier in her mouth and three more in her hands, excitedly waving at me. Before I could blink, she was off with her new found treasures, gleefully waving them in the air as she made her getaway.

Ever since, she takes them everywhere we go. At this point, she mostly carries them around. But from time to time, she does sneak one into her mouth.

Did your baby refuse to take a pacifier? Or has your toddler suddenly shown interest in a baby item (s)he did not care for before? I would love to hear your stories.

20 comments on “The Pacifier Saga

  1. Isaac had a pacifier from when he was quite little and we got rid of it when he was 6 months old…that saga was what prompted me to start blogging…he was a complete nightmare…endless screaming, no sleep at all…would I do it all again with any future children for my piece of mind…yep!

  2. That’s hysterical! My child didn’t take a pacifier either. I tried a few times to give her one, but she wasn’t interested. She used me instead. Whenever she cried, I just breastfed her. I didn’t know at the time that it was insane the amount of times she ate, but it was the only thing that made her happy when she was upset, so I never thought twice about it. I also sort of wished she would magically take one so that I would have a tool I could use to calm her down when we were out, but I’m actually glad I never got into the habit as I understand it’s quite hard to break. And many people tell me they have to get up multiples times a night to replace a pacifier, so I count my blessings we didn’t have to deal with that.

    If we were to have another one, I don’t know what I would do. How about you? Would you push the pacifier a bit more?

    • hnMom says:

      Funny. Livi also used me as a pacifier. That’s probably why they were never interested. They didn’t want anything else but us.
      I also heard that it is quite hard to get rid of a pacifier so at least we were spared that part.
      Would I push harder with another child? I don’t think so. We were quite desperate to calm Livi and tried everything we could think of. So I don’t think I could even try harder. But here’s another thought: would you avoid even trying the next time around, knowing that it will be hard down the road or would you still at least offer one?

      • You know, I’m not so sure what I would do. I would probably try the pacifier as I think it would be easier at the beginning, but I doubt I would push it for fear that it snowballed into a long-term thing. How about you?

        To be honest, I’m scared at the idea of having another one. I do like the idea of having 2 and would love it, but the pregnancy part was stressful for us given my family history, and the sleep struggles were really difficult for me. I worry that I would crack if I went through that again! But I do know I made a lot of mistakes and I’ve learned so much, so maybe it would be easier. I just don’t know. Are you guys thinking of doing it again, or is it too soon to even fathom like it is for us?! πŸ˜‰

      • hnMom says:

        Well, originally we wanted to try for another baby this summer but given Livi’s high need nature, I don’t think it would be a good idea for any of us. We barely make it as it is right now.

        I really loved being pregnant except for the constant nausea for the first four months. But I don’t think it would be fair to Livi. She still needs me way too much. She wants to be held a lot and also needs lots of attention. So much so that I still don’t get much done during the day. Being pregnant, I wouldn’t be able to take care of her the way I do now and once the baby arrives…

        Aside from that we still feel like zombies many days because of her sleep problems and she also wants to nurse a lot. I don’t think my body could take it right now. I actually doubt that I would even get pregnant but who knows.

        We definitely want one more, maybe even two more, and I would love to have another baby, but right now is not the right time for any of us.

  3. Like yours, my kiddo never took to a pacifier, even though we tried to give him one. Til now he still doesn’t like them and I’m probably more grateful for it now. I think it would’ve helped in the past, but then I also hear parents who have a hard time weaning them off of it. I think my LO was never much of a sucker to begin with, like he hardly sucked his thumb to soothe himself. Wish I could say the same about nursing though haha!

    • hnMom says:

      This seems to be quite a common theme. Did you nurse on demand as well. I’ve heard from many who did nurse on demand that their child was not interested in a pacifier or their thumb or any other “replacement.” They always only wanted mom. πŸ˜‰

  4. Oster's Mom says:

    Oster didn’t take a liking to the pacifier. He wasn’t sure what to do with it. He tried putting it in his mouth every which way but the right way. Like diapersanddtilettos, Oster used me as a pacifier. Now that I’m done breastfeeding, he no longer looks for comfort but teething pain. We bought him the Sophie Giraffe and he gnaws on that think like you wouldn’t believe.

    • hnMom says:

      Very interesting how many babies are not interested. Watching TV, you would think it’s all they care about.
      We almost bought Sophie the Giraffe for Livi but she had rejected so many teething rings and toys that I was not sure if I wanted to spent the money only to have it end up in the corner. She’s still got 8 more teeth to go, so we will see if I change my mind. I only hear good things about it.

  5. Deni Lyn says:

    Mac never wanted a pacifier or teething rings and he’s not a thumb sucker. He loves to stuff a burp cloth in his mouth and drag it around like a dog with a bone though. I’m hoping he decides to stop that habit before we send him off to college!

    • hnMom says:

      Ha, Livi used to that with her bibs. She was a big drooler, first due to reflux and then teething, so she pretty much wore them all the time and so would chew on them all the time. She stopped doing it a few months ago, with a few exceptions here and there. So there is hope. πŸ™‚
      I am amazed that so many babies do not care for pacifiers. And apparently it does not depend on breastfeeding. This is really not what I expected to hear. I honestly thought we were the only ones. Very interesting.

      • Deni Lyn says:

        I thought we were in the minority too with the distaste for pacifiers. Especially hearing some friends talk about the challenges of trying to get their 3 year-olds to part with them! The things you never know (or thought much about) until you’re a parent!

      • hnMom says:

        Very true.
        At least we won’t have to worry about our kids using a pacifier at 3 years. That’s pretty good in my book.

      • Deni Lyn says:

        I feel secretly smug for that! A small “victory” I can’t even take credit for. Ha!

  6. my son started taking a pacifier at 12 months, and now needs it to go to sleep. so weird…

  7. 4eyedblonde says:

    That is so funny about Livi! Your description of her finding her new treasure made me laugh.

    Both of my kids took to the pacifier easily, at the hospital (boo-hiss), so I had to be really, really careful about giving it to them while trying to establish breastfeeding. I became a pacifier czar with my first, ready to pummel the person responsible for putting it into his mouth without my permission. With both of my kids I only give/gave it to them for naps, bedtime, and in emergency situations out and about. And I was grateful to be able to do it. I can’t imagine how much more difficult it might have been without it.

    But I remember how awkward it looked in their mouths as newborns – this foreign object seeming to take up the whole lower half of their face. Sort of grossed me out!

    I think Arden was about a year old when I pulled the pacifier out for the last time. He didn’t even miss it. (Whoo!) Addy doesn’t seem any more obsessed with it than he did so I’m hoping it’ll go just as easily with her.

    • hnMom says:

      I guess nothing is perfect. I would have been a pacifier czar for sure but I like your approach of when to actually give a pacifier.
      Good luck with Addy, I’m sure it will be fine. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

