Monkey Mind

As parents we are often overwhelmed and stressed out by everything that needs to be taken care of. Add to this the extra needs and challenges presented by a high need baby, and stress and anxiety can become a constant companion.

But thankfully, there are ways to deal and cope with even the most challenging situations. I have tried several relaxation techniques to deal with the stress that comes with taking care of Livi and on the days that I manage to find some time to relax, I feel much better overall. Therefore, I am always on the lookout for new ideas, which is how I came across Zen Mama’s blog.

Zen Mama aka Betsy published a wonderful post called “How to Calm your Monkey Mind“. She shares great tricks she uses to calm her mind when stress and anxiety are about to take over. From mindfulness to positive affirmations to meditation, they can all be very effective and are worth the effort.

I know it is not easy to find the time to take care of yourself. But take it from me and at least try out some of the techniques mentioned by Betsy. Burnout might just be waiting around the corner and if it hits, it will be even harder to take care of your little one.

6 comments on “Monkey Mind

  1. the speech monster says:

    happy friday and weekend to you! hope the weather is/will be beautiful where you are. šŸ™‚

  2. Love your positivity! Glad you’re all feeling better šŸ™‚

  3. Betsy at Zen Mama says:

    Hi HN Mom! Thank you so much for sharing the link! I, too, love these positive affirmations. I have tried several over the last few weeks and they really seem to be working!! Especially the I AM headache free. I had been getting headaches in Feb. for no appearent reason. I tried the I AM headache free and it worked. I’ve rarely had a headache since. Now I just need to say, “I AM a lottery winner”… šŸ™‚

    • hnMom says:

      My pleasure, I really enjoyed reading your post. šŸ™‚ I am glad to hear that the affirmations are working, I am counting on it. And be sure to let me know how the lottery thing is working out for you. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

