The Perfect Storm

Every time Livi gets her shots, she switches gears to a higher level of fussiness and becomes even more clingy than usual. It lasts for about a week or two and then she goes back to her “normal” self.

When she is teething, she is also needier, which I am sure all babies are. This teething business is no joke.

Enter last Friday, when we had an appointment for Livi’s 12 months checkup, which also included a series of shots. She had started teething earlier in the week and I was about to reschedule her appointment as she seemed especially fussy this time around.

My husband, however, convinced me otherwise. His logic was to get it all over with and move on. Since it would have taken forever to get another appointment, I reluctantly agreed.

The appointment went as expected with lots of tears and screams and heartbreak (mostly mine).

Livi was right on schedule and by evening her fussiness had increased as expected. The next few days and nights were difficult, but we were able to handle it.

Now comes the fun part: apparently my husband picked up a nasty cold at the pediatrician’s office and has been home sick all week long.

Since I don’t want Livi to get sick on top of everything else, he has been sleeping in the guestroom, coming out maybe twice a day.

Which leaves me to fend for myself day and night. I think I have slept 4 hours the last couple of nights, half of it with a restless toddler on top of me. And during the day, she is either clinging to my leg or otherwise attached to me. She has also reverted to taking naps only while I hold her, God help me.

The house is an even bigger mess than usual, which I did not think possible. And we are slowly running out of food.

I can tell Livi misses her dad and doesn’t understand why she cannot play with him and why he won’t pick her up. The disappointment on her face is hard to watch.

Let’s just hope it is worth the effort and Livi and I will not get sick, too.

Next time, remind me to just reschedule the appointment or make my husband wear a face mask. Although, I am not sure which one would be easier.

Flickr Photo by Andrea_44

15 comments on “The Perfect Storm

  1. the speech monster says:

    Oh dear hope the fussiness passes soon I know a few friends whose kids go off the charts after the 12month immunizations.

    • hnMom says:

      Oh really? What happened? Anything I should look out for?

      • the speech monster says:

        i think it’s more physical reactions. and possibly like yours teething at the same time. they both ran a fever after their immunizations which is never good and throw in teething. eek. not looking forward to that!

      • hnMom says:

        Yeah, so far we have been lucky and had no high fever or any other reactions, but apparently that can still happen.
        But otherwise she has been a little mess, soo fussy and clingy. I just hope we get through it without her catching the cold as well. The rest I can handle for a few more days, even if it means hardly any sleep for me.

  2. Oster's Mom says:

    So sorry you are going through this. Oster’s 12 month appt. is next month. I’m sure I’ll be looking for some advice afterward πŸ™‚
    Don’t worry about a messy house. Health is the only thing that you guys need to worry about. Hope everyone is healthy and happy soon.

    • hnMom says:

      Thank you, I hope so, too. πŸ™‚
      Just make sure your husband is and stays healthy so you have the help and emotional support if you need it. Having to take care of him on top of everything else is making it even harder.

  3. Those Young Moms says:

    Oh no! I hope everyone gets well very soon. It sounds like you have your hands full. Much support! We also are stopping by to thank you for giving us the Liebster award, you can check out our blog for the post. Lots of good vibes coming your way!

  4. You poor, poor thing! I’m so sorry!! It’s tough enough dealing with a high-needs baby at his/her best, then tack on teething and shots, AND a sick husband?? Oh, man! You’re going to need a girls night out after this, or something πŸ™‚ Just remember, this too shall pass.

    – Evanthia

    • hnMom says:

      Thank you! We’ll get through it. There are moments when I think I can’t possibly go on any more, especially at night, and then you just do. And miraculously, the next time you look, another two hours have passed. πŸ™‚

  5. Chris Hall says:

    We just found out Jaydon has allergies. We have been to the doctor four times in the last five weeks so Jaydon is starting to put 2 and 2 together. Doctor equals poking, prodding and pain. What’s worse is Jaydon is about to have his one year checkup and shots later this month.
    I feel for you. We have been there in our own way. But this will all pass in time.

    • hnMom says:

      I am so sorry to hear that Jaydon had to go through this. We had a similar experience with Livi’s reflux, but at least there was no poking.
      There were so many shots this time, it was horrible. She was beside herself, I’ve never heard her scream like this. But she calmed down fairly quickly once we were out of there.
      I’ll keep my fingers crossed that all goes well for Jaydon. πŸ™‚

  6. Ahhhh, I hate the doctor’s office. I am also ultra-paranoid with the germs (as you have read on my blog!), so when my hubby gets sick, he gets to sit on the couch and not touch anything. πŸ™‚ I figure once she’s older and gets sick and gives it to us, we can all snot everywhere without any fear – ha!

    We had the 12-month shots last week too. She was so wiggly at the doctor’s office and cried when he was checking her ears and throat. It was horrible as she has never done that before. She didn’t cry at all for her last set of shots, but this time was a different story. She was definitely a bit fussier for a few days after, but I think her teeth are bugging her and her naps are getting short. I’ve heard this is common right before they walk and to hold on to the 2 naps until after they are walking as they often get really tired again. Fingers crossed!

    • hnMom says:

      Yeah that makes sense. Livi started walking on her own right at the same time. So we had teething, shots, walking, and then she got my husband’s cold after all. Over all, it has been 4 weeks and her whole schedule is messed up. She wakes more often at night, wants to nurse more, and is so clingy. Sometimes she even cries when my husband holds her. And she has never done that before.
      I am hopeful that things will turn around soon though. πŸ™‚
      I’ll keep my fingers crossed that things work out for you.

Leave a Reply

