One Year Ago Today

I remember it very clearly, although at the time my brain was hazy and it all seemed very confusing.

It was March 11, 2011 and I had given birth to Livi just a few days ago.

Our days and nights were filled with diaper changes, constant nursing, lots of crying, and 10 minute naps. We were overwhelmed and exhausted.

I spent most of my time propped up in bed or sitting in the rocking chair, nursing our baby who seemed to be hungry around the clock. We were desperate for sleep, food, and some way to get our lives back on track.

Then in the early morning hours of March 11th, we turned on the TV while I nursed Livi and the first images from Japan began to flicker across the screen.

At first, my tired brain could hardly comprehend what had happened. It just seemed too horrible to be true. Slowly, reality set in.

Suddenly, our own “struggles” seemed so insignificant and we realized how blessed we truly were. We were lucky enough to just be at the beginning of an incredible journey. We were safe and warm, we had a roof over our heads and food and water, and we were able to take care of our baby.

An unbelievable wave of happiness and gratitude swept over me. At the same time, I felt so incredibly saddened by the devastation in Japan. And I suddenly realized that everything I valued could be taken away in an instant.

March 11, 2011 was supposed to be Livi’s birthday. She decided to come into our lives sooner and I am thankful for that. Nonetheless it will always be an important day in our lives, a day to remember the victims of the earthquake and tsunami and a day to remember how blessed we truly are.

Leave a Reply

